Catching Up

March 3, 2024

It’s been a bit since I’ve updated everybody on what’s going on. I was really sick last summer into the fall and just kind of fell out of sorts. The doctors changed my medication and I’m finally doing well again.

I did get sick again at Christmas. I went to the ER on 23 December and basically had this really bad Covid/flu/whatever that’s been going around. I was down for 10 days which covered Christmas and New Year’s both. I’m finally feeling better from that and have gained my strength back.

However, over that same period of time my poor dog got really sick and I was unable to take him to the veterinarian nor was I able to get an appointment because of the holiday hours. Once I was finally able to get him into the vet, it was too late. He was experiencing kidney failure and was going into liver failure. So I had to Make the decision to put him down on January 4. He wasn’t even quite five years old but he had had problems with seizures and such since I’ve had him. He was also deaf and I’m sure he had other problems too that I was not really aware of.
That kind of just sent me back a bit emotionally.

Then Valentine’s Day hit and I didn’t hear from my guy for a couple of days during that which really got me concerned since we still talk basically almost every day. He finally sent me a little message on Saturday of that week and said he was really sick and that was like all he basically said, and I didn’t hear from him again until the following Wednesday when he told me he had been admitted into the hospital the day before. He said he would be in for at least four days because they were doing blood cultures and they weren’t quite sure what was wrong with him, I finally heard back from him then again, Friday when he told me he was finally home, but he had a PICC line because he had to give himself IV antibiotics every day for 6 weeks! Turns out that he had a very serious bacterial infection in his spine and also has an abscess in his spinal column right by his spinal cord! And if the antibiotics don’t work, he’s going to have to have surgery. 

So it’s taking everything inside of me to not run out there to play nurse to him

On the lighter side, I did get a new dog just this week. So far she’s been really good so I hope she continues on. She comes from a neglectful background because her previous “mom” had schizophrenia and is presently incarcerated. The women’s family took the dog in but they have two large dogs of their own and a couple of cats, so they were unable to keep her.

So right now things are just kind of slightly stressed, but not as bad as I have been in the past. My guy and I have been talking every day since he’s been home pretty much all day long. He gets very worn out though.

I am hoping to get more active on this blog again. Look for an announcement coming soon!!

Published by morgandestera

Paypal markiemoo1138@yahoo.com

Leave a comment